Our governors are all volunteers and have an important part to play in raising school standards.  They provide strategic leadership and accountability in the school. They appoint and performance manage the Headteacher.  It is governors that hold the main responsibility for finance in school, and it is governors who work with the Headteacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources. They are also here to support the head in a very challenging role.

The board meets as a Full Board twice a term;  once to ensure all legislative procedures are being carried out and adhered to and once to discuss how the school is progressing and how it could improve and develop.

Two sub-committees also meet once a term ( ‘Finance and Resources’ and ‘Teaching and Learning’). These committees discuss relevant issues and impact of actions relating to each area. The Headteacher attends all meetings and discusses and informs Governors on all matters. The Governor’s role is then to validate or challenge the information they are given by gathering information, talking to staff, pupils and parents.

Individual governors take ownership of particular areas of responsibility.  This involves meeting with staff counterparts each term to monitor progress and stimulate discussion at board level.

We are very happy for parents to gain a better understanding of the issues and outcomes of our meetings by reading the minutes, please contact the school office.

If you are interested in joining our board, do please get in touch with the Chair via the school office (admin@manorfarm.bucks.sch.uk). You may also like to download and read our Prospective Governor Pack which gives you an idea of the role and commitment needed.  We value the input of parents and community members and appreciate the value of a diverse range of perspectives.  Do get in touch.

Current Membership (last 12 months)

Name Governor Type Current Term From Current Term To Roles Attendance 18/19 No. Attended (No. Required) Business Interests and Other Governance Appointments Relevant Relations
Nicholas Hunt Co-opted governor 24 Nov 2018 23 Nov 2022 Chair Full Board
Performance Management
Child Protection
Safer Recruitment
School Council
6 (6) Chair of Jordans School N/A
Helen Matthews Co-opted governor 08 Oct 2019 7 Oct 2023 Vice Chair
8 (9) N/A N/A
Graham Innes Co-opted governor 24 Nov 2018 23 Nov 2022 Chair F&R, Health & Safety, GDPR 8 (9) N/A
Steve Sinden Parent governor 07 Feb 2019 6 Feb 2023 Performance Management
Chair T&L
6 (6) N/A N/A
David Teasdale Co-opted governor 08 Oct 2019 27 Sep 2023 School Website
Sports Premium
7 (9) Chair of Trustees at Action4Youth N/A
 Ellie Cheshire Co-opted governor 08 Oct 2019 7 Oct 2023 Development
Safer Recruitment
Pupil Premium
2 (3) Employed by Bucks Education Partnership (Herts for Learning). Currently providing Governor Support Services to MFCJS. N/A
Maqsood Siddiqui Co-opted governor 21 Jan 2020 20 Jan 2024 N/A N/A N/A
Gemma Hillier Staff governor 09 Oct 2018 8 Oct 2022 Safer Recruitment 1 (6) N/A N/A
Andrew Sierant Headteacher N/A N/A Safer Recruitment 9 (9) N/A N/A
Mandy Lewis Co-opted governor 08/10/2018 07/02/2019 Stepped Down N/A N/A
Lisa Cornwell Webb Co-opted governor 02/07/2018 19/03/2019 Stepped Down 1 (5) N/A N/A
Ana Buron Parent 11/10/2018 21/09/2019 Stepped Down 5 (8) N/A N/A
John McSheery Co-opted governor 21/05/2018 28/05/2019 Stepped Down N/A N/A
Helen Callis Parent governor 11/03/2019 03/12/2019 Stepped Down 3 (5) N/A N/A
Hazel Sharpe Clerk N/A N/A Clerk N/A N/A N/A


  • Employee Grievance, Complaints Panel, Pay Review & Staff Dismissal Appeal Committees are made up of any three Governors with no prior knowledge called on by the Chair of Governors.
  • Business Interests are Directorships, partnerships and employments with businesses that provide goods or services to the school and details of any other educational establishments governed.
  • Relevant Relations are those between governors and members of the school staff including spouses, partners and relatives.
  • All Terms of Office are 4 years
  • Attendance* = Number of scheduled committee meetings carried out (and number invited to) in last academic year